Dr. Janet McMahill | Biography
Current Responsibilities Administrate the Extension Education Division to provide:

Oversee and administrate programs for:
  • Pre-K 12 Teachers    
  • School Administrators    
  • School and Community Counselors    
  • Adult Training and Development    
  • Iowa Behavioral Alliance    
  • Head Start of Central Iowa    
  • Adult Literacy    
  • Distance Learning

Awards and Honors
  • Hall of Fame, United States Distance Learning Association 2001
  • Presidential Recognition, USDLA 1998    
  • Founder’s Award, Iowa Distance Learning Association First Annual Award for Excellence in Distance Education, 1996    
  • F.I.N.E. Foundation Program Recognition: 1994 Annual Award given for exemplary partnerships between a university and local school    
  • Outstanding Young Iowan: Iowa Junior Chamber of Commerce, Des Moines 1985

Professional Organizations
  • United States Distance Learning Association
  • National President, 1994-1995    
  • Chairman of the Board 1995-1996    
  • Chairman of the Board Emeritus, 1997 to present    
  • Chairman of the National Chapter President’s Council 1996- present   
  •  Iowa Distance Learning Association - President and Founder, 1993
  • Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development    
  • Iowa Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development
Presentations at Local, State, National and International Conferences and Seminars for state chapters of USDLA in Texas, Iowa, Georgia, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Washington, D.C., Nebraska, Michigan, Ontario, London and Birmingham, England

Publications and Research Supervision in
  • Curriculum and Instruction    
  • Technology in Education    
  • Administration of Distance Learning

Educational Experience
  • Drake University, Bachelors Degree 1971; Master’s Degree 1976    
  • Iowa State University, Ph.D., 1985    
  • Drake University 1987-present    
  • Ft. Dodge Public Schools, Curriculum Director 1984-1987    
  • Iowa Central Community College 1974-1984    
  • Des Moines Public Schools 1971-1974